Russia, officially known as the Russian Federation, is a country situated in Northern Eurasia. From Northwest to Southeast, Russia shares land borders with Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, China, Mongolia, and North Korea. It shares maritime borders with Japan by the Sea of Okhotsk, the U.S. state of Alaska across the Bering Strait and Canada’s Arctic islands.

Russia is a federal semi-presidential republic, permanent member of the United Nations Security Council, member of the G20, the Council of Europe, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, the Eurasian Economic Community, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and the World Trade Organisation (WTO) and the leading member of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

Regarding political and civil freedom, Russia is classified by Freedom House 2016 Index “Freedom in the World” as “Not Free”, due to human rights abuses, as well as restrictions of the freedom of speech and protest. In spite of the hostile environment, according to the USAID 2015 CSOs Sustainability Index, Russian civil society organisations are continuing to work to ensure civic participation, transparency and social change, trying to be as responsive as possible to the community needs.


The following CSOs from the Russian Federation participated at the Black Sea NGO Forum:


Photo Gallery