From the perspective of the Black Sea NGO Forum, the Black Sea Region represents an extended area, comprising the following countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, the Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine. As defined by the Black Sea Synergy, the Black Sea Region is more than a geographical area. It is a region of strategic importance due to its location (situated between Europe, Central Asia and the Middle East), and also a region with great potential, reunited by common opportunities and challenges, especially in areas such as: environment, energy, transport, economic and social development. Despite the large population and diverse cultures of the region, these challenges can be addressed only through an intense regional cooperation not only at governmental level, but also at the level of civil society.